life: acoustic & amplified

poetry, quotes & thoughts about life

preferences of heart

fence

I was just guessing

At numbers and figures

Pulling the puzzles apart

Questions of science

Science and progress

Do not speak as loud as my heart

I’m going back to the start

Christy Anna Beguins

print

just a few of my very favorite things…

art and adoration and adventures

berries and bounty and beauty

choice and chocolate and colors

days and dreaming and dragons

elephants and eggs and every-little-good-thing

friends and fun and freedom

green and generosity and grace

home and humor and honesty

ice and intelligence and integrity

joy and journeys and joining

kindness and kisses and knowledge

letters and listening and love

moments and memories and music

nature and nests and niceness

openness and oceans and orange

poems and places and people

quiet and quilts and quips

raspberries and rings and romance

stars and songs and silence

today and tranquility and trees

umbrellas and understanding and uniqueness

vulnerability and velvet and value

weather and words and wonder

x-mas and xylophones and x-tra

yes and yellow and yolo

zebras and zzzzzz’s and zeniths


Amy Lloyd

love.jpg

I prefer movies.
I prefer cats.
I prefer the oaks along the Warta.
I prefer Dickens to Dostoyevsky.
I prefer myself liking people
to myself loving mankind.
I prefer keeping a needle and thread on hand, just in case.
I prefer the color green.
I prefer not to maintain
that reason is to blame for everything.
I prefer exceptions.
I prefer to leave early.
I prefer talking to doctors about something else.
I prefer the old fine-lined illustrations.
I prefer the absurdity of writing poems
to the absurdity of not writing poems.
I prefer, where love’s concerned, nonspecific anniversaries
that can be celebrated every day.
I prefer moralists
who promise me nothing.
I prefer cunning kindness to the over-trustful kind.
I prefer the earth in civvies.
I prefer conquered to conquering countries.
I prefer having some reservations.
I prefer the hell of chaos to the hell of order.
I prefer Grimms’ fairy tales to the newspapers’ front pages.
I prefer leaves without flowers to flowers without leaves.
I prefer dogs with uncropped tails.
I prefer light eyes, since mine are dark.
I prefer desk drawers.
I prefer many things that I haven’t mentioned here
to many things I’ve also left unsaid.
I prefer zeroes on the loose
to those lined up behind a cipher.
I prefer the time of insects to the time of stars.
I prefer to knock on wood.
I prefer not to ask how much longer and when.
I prefer keeping in mind even the possibility
that existence has its own reason for being.
______________________________________
Possibilities By Wislawa Szymborska

there is no me stuck in the middle

if I move slow it’s because it’s my current pace of preference

after all that pushing up hill

gaining no ground

I refuse to kiss and tell

Im not a careless whisperer

though I am easy as Sunday Morning

and twice as nice as you’ve previously heard

these crows feet I’ve earned

by laughing in the face of it all

are my pride and glory

this current number is my favorite

raise your glass if you love your own face

there will be no disparaging of the word: Life

it is our gift

sand between my toes

stardust in my eyes

let’s get real

I mean really real

I want a love that will last

If you get what you ask for…

what will the supreme question be

????

think about them apples

come on get happy this very day

then come on up onto the stage

and sing it like you mean it

along with the choir

there’s always room for one more

welcome to the show

you’re very welcome here

Amy Lloyd

birds

 

Photos found on Google images

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

