life: acoustic & amplified

poetry, quotes & thoughts about life

when I touch your face I touch the face of God   


our identity actually depends on the attention we give to things outside of ourselves 

          (David Whyte via On Being)


It is so difficult to see this face * 

because the countless others 

we’ve seen before 

cloud the view, 

along with how we expect it to look 

and how it might be improved.
Even the faces of the ones we love deeply 

hide like buried treasure 

behind histories of expression.
In order to see 

what is right in front of our eyes, 

we first have to recognize 

we have gradually 

become blind, 

and then begin 

the slow work of forgetting.

* Substitute with any noun: flower, beach, stone, bird, soap bubble, house, grandmother, beef stew, homeless person, celebrity, potato, dollar bill, construction worker, politician, drug addict, child, teacher, report card, mail order catalogue, boss, swimming pool, dog, towel, onion, computer, neighbor, planet, pine cone, cigarette, airplane, spam subject, fork, mountain, etc.

🍴

Recognition by Daron Larson


You are the sum total of everything you’ve ever seen, heard, eaten, smelled, been told, forgot — it’s all there. Everything influences each of us, and because of that I try to make sure that my experiences are positive.

☺️

           – Maya Angelou 


Me myself

Trippers and askers surround me, People I meet, the effect upon me of my early life or the ward and city I live in, or the nation.

The latest dates, discoveries, inventions, societies, authors old and new…

These come to me days and nights and go from me again. But they are not the Me myself.

– Walt Whitman from Song of Myself


I long to see your face

to touch the hills of your nose

your cheeks

the valleys where your eyes live

your forehead, I don’t know well enough 

the crease of your chin 

under your lips

your face is the place 

where your soul

meets the world,

met mine

your breath

allows us to mingle

melting into each other’s dna

I miss your conversation 

I miss our laughter

I miss your company 

I miss your hands

mostly I miss seeing your face

with these eyes of mine

😍

AL


I think your whole life shows in your face and we should be proud of that. 

     – Lauren Bacall


                look at your hands

    your beautiful useful hands

                you’re not an ape

            you’re not a parrot

    you’re not a slow loris

        or a smart missile

            you’re human
            not british

        not american

            not israeli

    not palestinian

        you’re human
            not catholic

    not protestant

        not muslim

            not hindu

    you’re human
    we all start human

        we end up human

            human first

                human last

            we’re human

        or we’re nothing
    nothing but bombs

        and poison gas

    nothing but guns

        and torturers

    nothing but slaves

    of Greed and War

    if we’re not human
                    look at your body

    with its amazing systems

    of nerve-wires and blood canals

        think about your mind

    which can think about itself

        and the whole universe

            look at your face

    which can freeze into horror

            or melt into love

        look at all that life

            all that beauty

            you’re human

        they are human

        we are human

    let’s try to be human
            dance!

💃🏻

Human Beings by Adrian Mitchell

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

