life: acoustic & amplified

poetry, quotes & thoughts about life

The only way to find your voice is to use it. – Austin Kleon

IMG_3906.JPG
I walk in the whipping wind to reach my spot
At times I wonder why???
cause, Oh Baby, it’s cold outside…
Then I step on the beach,
and understanding breaks through,
here I am –
touching the Divine.
It’s crazy.
How could it be that someone like me,
someone simply ordinary,
with so many and varied,
flaws and imperfections,
can see and touch and breathe divinity?
Very God.
I stand,
humbled and grateful,
full of hope for this wonder-filled world.
The cold wind is directly in my face,
waves crash against rocks.
I am small and fragile,
here on the edge of the seagull flock
(I wonder, is that what a bunch of seagulls are called? a flock? a gaggle? a herd?)
I remember being here
almost two years ago now.
Remember how the seagulls taught me great lessons
about God’s care and love.
How different I was then.
The same sun shone,
but back then all was dark and frozen-still inside me.
Today I feel the sunshine in my very soul.
I stand and cry,
very cold, wet tears of overwhelming gratitude
as ‘To Make You Feel My Love’
plays in my pocket.
So much brokenness.
I have not forgotten.
I will never forget.
Yet here I am,
somehow on the other side of the great gulf of grief.
Somehow standing in the center of the light.
Somehow understanding things that I can’t humanly comprehend.
Somehow knowing without knowing.
Somehow beginning with each new morning,
a new joy,
a new journey,
a new birth,
a new song,
a new view,
a new life,
a new story,
a new adventure.
I bow in gratitude.
I know I must sing
because I carry songs which are ready to be sung,
to be birthed in the world.
Just as the birds on the wires above me, I sing
because I cannot NOT sing.
I sing because it is who I was created to be.
I sing because I’m happy.
I sing because I’m free.
His eye is on the sparrow –
and I am worth many sparrows!
I am beloved!
and
SO ARE YOU!

ACL q11/18/14

IMG_3218.JPG
If there was just one thing I could tell you about living the life of your dreams, knowing that it would be enough if you understood it, I would ask you to realize that you already are.

In the presence of greatness,
The Universe

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

