life: acoustic & amplified

poetry, quotes & thoughts about life

into the mystery

IMG_1909.JPG

I
Do not
Want to step so quickly
Over a beautiful line on God’s palm
As I move through the earth’s
Marketplace
Today.

I do not want to touch any object in this world
Without my eyes testifying to the truth
That everything is
My Beloved.

Something has happened
To my understanding of existence
That now makes my heart always full of wonder
And kindness.

I do not
Want to step so quickly
Over this sacred place on God’s body
That is right beneath your
Own foot

As I
Dance with
Precious life
Today.

“Today” by Hafiz, from The Gift: Poems of Hafiz, the Great Sufi Master. Purported to be translated from the original Persian (Farsi) by Daniel Ladinsky. © Penguin Compass, 1999.

Please note that Ladinsky’s “translations” are controversial, considered by many to be less Hafiz than Ladinsky himself.

IMG_1905.JPG
She whose gaze is heaven
has gathered up earth
and kissed herself into it,
breathed life into the clay
and made you
into an altar
for her praise.

______________________
Steve Garnaas-Holmes
Unfolding Light
http://www.unfoldinglight.net

IMG_1910.JPG

IMG_1917.JPG

IMG_1918.JPG

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

