life: acoustic & amplified

poetry, quotes & thoughts about life

full

20140707-113404-41644729.jpg

It was just a jug of water
I took with me to the well

the stranger asked me for a drink
I choked on my reply,

why would I give you water, sir
when I am thirsty, dry?

and then he said
if you give to me
I will fill your cup
with things you’ve never had before
yes, I will fill you up

then I cried
here’s my cup
fill it up
fill it up
Here’s my whole jug of water
fill it up
Lord
fill it up

take the heart of my devises
make it new I recognize it
needs to know your love

take this life of broken chances
use it now for your devices
and let me share your love

it was just a blue sky summer morning
as I started to the well

then this stranger spoke my life,
the whole world stopped –
I choked on my reply,

how do you know me so well, sir
oh tell me, who am I?

and then he said
if you give to me
I will fill your heart
with things you’ve never had before
yes, I will fill you up

then I cried
here’s my heart
fill it up
fill it up
Here’s my whole heart, my life
fill it up
Lord
fill it up

as the sun set that evening
everything had changed
and my heart it was singing
all my life was rearranged
everything is different now
this strangers my best friend
Jesus came to live with me
I am loved
I know it’s true
this end is the beginning
this beginning is the end

AL 7/7/14

20140707-113441-41681684.jpg

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

