life: acoustic & amplified

poetry, quotes & thoughts about life

Stay curious

When we face a new situation our temptation is often to ask, “What do I like?” Do I like this new thing? Do I like these people? Do I like this set-up?

Sometimes that’s a helpful question to ask. But it’s always good to ask,”What can I learn?” From this new thing, in this new life situation, on this new day—what can I learn? In this moment, like it or not, life is giving me the opportunity to learn more about the universe and about myself, and more of God. I am being given the chance to grow, to deepen my practice of forgiveness, say, or attentiveness, gratitude, litheness or compassion.

Everything is a teaching, a chance to learn and practice. It’s a gift. But only if I stay open and curious. Even if it’s a rotten situation, nine times out of ten curiosity beats misery. Compassion always covers the rest.

Stay curious.
__________________
Steve Garnaas-Holmes (edited)
Unfolding Light
http://www.unfoldinglight.net

20140630-090120-32480602.jpg

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

