life: acoustic & amplified

poetry, quotes & thoughts about life

becoming free like children

Lord, thank you
for setting me free.
Free to blow bubbles,
fly kites,
listen to seashells,
cuddle kittens,
build castles in the sand,
wish on stars.

Thank you
for setting me free.
Free to hunt for four-leaf clovers,
explore oak trees with inviting branches,
run laughing in the rain,
walk barefoot,
jump puddles,
wave at trains.

Thank you
for setting me free.
Free to yellow my nose in buttercups,
catch a firefly to see his light,
pick the first wild strawberry,
count the stars,
talk to ladybugs,
chase a thistle.

Thank you
for setting me free.
Free to see you in
sunlight dancing on the water,
dogwood smiling at the sky,
willows curtseying to the river,
azaleas flaming across the land,
rainbowed cobwebs,
drifting leaves.

Thank you
for setting me free.
Free to play with,
wonder at
and love
all that you have given me.
And free, as well,
to give it back
to you.

Lord, do archangels
need you
as much as I do?

Father, thank you
for setting me free.
Free to be
poor,
little,
weak.

Thank you for setting me free.
Free to be
misunderstood,
rejected,
forgotten.

Thank you
for setting me free.
Free to be
unsatisfied,
empty,
stripped.

Thank you
for setting me free.
Free to
break through,
let go,
enter the flame.

Father, thank you
for setting me free
by binding me
more closely
to yourself.

– Sue Garmen
in Souvenirs of Solitude by Brennan Manning

20140528-091546-33346727.jpg

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

