life: acoustic & amplified

poetry, quotes & thoughts about life

starting over

20140222-102625.jpg

Every day is a fresh beginning,
Listen my soul to the glad refrain.
And, in spite of all sorrows
And older sinning,
Troubles forecasted
And possible pain,
Take heart with the day and begin again.
– Susan Coolidge

Im having a do-over day.
It’s a little shorter than most days,
but that’s ok.
In the first half of my do-over day,
(which is in bad need of redemption).
Somewhere between my alarm going off
and me reaching for my phone to check my email,
this day twisted
and went sour.
Not just a little sour,
rancid sour,
like clumpy milk and spoiled eggs mixed together.
I spent much of my day trying,
desperately,
to get my balance,
regain my equilibrium,
stem the tidal waves of fear and disappointment.
Sooooo…
at approximately 4:45 PM EST,
I decided to start it over.
I said a cheery ‘hello there’
to my new day and then
I got in the shower and rewashed myself
and my hair.
I got out and made myself a first cup of coffee for my new morning
and I drank it wrapped in my bathrobe.
Dried my hair
Reapplied my makeup
(which had not survived my many bouts of crying in the bad, rotten day before)
and dressed myself to go about my new day.
In this day there will be music and laughter.
There will be fresh friendship and good food.
In this day I will give thanks and I will keep calm and carry on.
I am grateful for this new day.
New mercies.
New grace.
New strength.
New thoughts.
New choices.
Tally-ho, old chap,
Top O’ the morning to you,
lovely second sunrise today,
don’t you think?

AL 2/21/2014

20140222-102942.jpg

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

