life: acoustic & amplified

poetry, quotes & thoughts about life

closing doors

20140106-071053.jpg

Saying goodbye
to Short Beach
at Lighthouse Point.
This has been my sanctuary
these past two months.
My place of learning with God.
A pure divinity school,
with sparkly rocks,
seagulls named Lefty
and water that reflects
the face and moods of God.
It is time to say goodbye
time to fly –
like the cranes have taught me –
time to go to work,
co-creating with God,
all the things I’ve been taught
during these years of learning.
The truths of intimacy
and the extreme possibilities
of love manifested.
Which is the only thing that has changed my heart.
The only medicine which has bound up my wounds
and healed my broken places.
The Love, which is God,
I have come to know this truth –
it is the one, and only, thing
that will change the world.
AL 4/16/13

20140106-071015.jpg

20140106-070938.jpg
I spend the day
Moving into
ruthless
radical
Trust.
I confess.
I weep.
I let go.
I praise.
I let go more.
I move into new areas –
Of hope
and faith.
I walk to the shore.
Every rock glitters
I talk to my favorite seagull,
Lefty –
I can tell it’s him
when he moves
his empty leg evident.
My seagull friend, Speckles, I know immediately
those red-brown dots on his cheeks
stand out among his fair faced brothers.
They move over as I get too close –
I am not a seagull after all –
They must keep some distance
Not trusting humans
as they trust their creator.
I cant resist glittering rocks,
Colorful shells.
The sparkling glory of God
Is everywhere.
How do I not remember all this glitter in the sunshine?
I walk back with heavy pockets –
Grateful for gravity,
which will keep me on this earth
after I have emptied my treasure.
I am aware of the world –
Connection –
Trusting all of life.
As I live trust
into this new moment.
of life.
of spring.
Signs are everywhere –
Flowers and buds
appearing before my very eyes.
All of nature trusting.
Always.
Only we humans
Struggle to trust.
Only I –
think I can handle my own life.
Think I am separate.
Think I must earn my living.
Earn my worth.
Prove my value
Hide who I really am.
Allow my ego to rule my delusions.
Like I have done anything to put myself here.
Like I can pretend that I don’t need,
or that Im not enough.
that I can be someone Im not.
what arrogance have I been taught?
What Foolishness have I held on to?
What silliness, and damning lies, have I refused to let go of?
I fall on my knees in humble thankfulness.
I am not my own.
I am the beloved
Lord, I trust –
You.
Open my eyes.
Renovate my heart.
I am Yours.
3/15/13

20140106-071126.jpg

20140106-071201.jpg

20140106-075828.jpg

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

