life: acoustic & amplified

poetry, quotes & thoughts about life

Phoebe

PhoebeI sat
stone-like
for days –
maybe weeks –
death still hanging out
smoking a cigarette
waiting for the chance
to conquer and suck
life from my defenseless body

now I realize the wings
I kept hearing
were not birds
as I thought
they were the wings of the
angels keeping watch
protecting
me
as my armor lay in a pile
I sat
staring
absorbing the carnage
wondering
how?
why?
it seemed impossible
I was still alive

AL 1/24/13

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

